Padma Awards 2022: Jhajharia & utterly different Indian sport persons honoured at Rashtrapati Bhavan

In a predominant trend, Paralympic sage Devendra Jhajaria, who introduced silver glory home all over the 2020 Tokyo Paralympics, became once conferred with the third-perfect civilian award in India, Padma Bhushan on Monday. President Ram Nath Kovind conferred the prestigious honour to the Paralympian at Rashtrapati Bhavan on Monday.

Jhajaria is a a couple of-time Paralympics medal winner, having acquired his maiden gold all over the 2004 Paralympics in Athens, his second gold medal all over the Rio Paralympics in 2016, and the silver medal all over the 2020 Tokyo Paralympics final year. The 40-year-old javelin thrower competes in the F46 events in the Paralympics and became once amongst the four Paralympic medalists to be conferred with the Padma Awards this year. 

Be taught about Devendra Jhajaria receive the Padma Bhusan award from President Kovind:

Avani Lekhara conferred with Padma Shri Award 2022

Meanwhile, Tokyo Paralympics 2020 double medallist, shooter Avani Lekhara got the Padma Shri award in the sports class for her improbable show all over final year’s Paralympics. Lekhara acquired a gold medal in the 10m air rifle standing match and a bronze medal in the 50m Rifle 3 positions match. Alongside Jhajharia and Avani, gold medal-successful javelin thrower Sumit Anil, gold-medalist in badminton Pramod Bhagat had been the utterly different Paralympic medalists to be confered with the honour.  

Neeraj Chopra, Sumit Antil amongst others conferred Padma Awards

Meanwhile, an total of 9 sportspersons including the Tokyo Olympics gold medalist Neeraj Chopra had been also conferred the Padma Awards. Chopra acquired the gold medal in the Javelin throw match in the Tokyo Olympics 2020 and earned India’s first gold medal in be conscious and field events in over 100 years. Chopra became once conferred the Padma Shri award alongside, Antil, Bhagat, Sankaranarayan Menon Chundayil, Vandana Kataria, Brahmanand Sankhwalkar, and Faisal Ali Dhar.

Be taught about Faisal Ali Dhar receiving the Padma Shri Award:

More about Padma Awards 2022

A total of 119 Padma Awards had been offered by President Kovind this year. The list of award winners made from seven Padma Vibhushan awardees, 16 Padma Bhusan, and 102 Padma Shri Awards. Out of the 119, an total of 29 winners are girls, 16 are posthumous awardees and one is a transgender awardee.

(Twitter List: @ANI)

Related Articles

Back to top button