Over 85% MPs vote till 2 PM to elect next VP; Modi, ex-PM Manmohan Singh solid ballot

Over 85 per cent votes had been polled within the Vice Presidential election till 2 PM, with Top Minister Narendra Modi and his predecessor Manmohan Singh casting their ballots early within the day, officers mentioned.

Of the 780 MPs in both Properties — but any other eight Rajya Sabha seats are vacant — around 670 of them had solid their vote up to now, they mentioned.

The Trinamool Congress, which has 39 MPs, along side 23 in Lok Sabha, has already announced its resolution to abstain from this election.

Nationwide Democratic Alliance’s (NDA) Jagdeep Dhankhar (71) is pitted in opposition to Opposition’s Margaret Alva (80) for the put up.

Polling to elect the next Vice President of India started at 10 am, with Modi being among the many major ones to enact so.

Old Top Minister Manmohan Singh arrived in a wheelchair and wished succor to face up and vote. CPM MP John Brittas turn out to be once among these that helped the dilapidated chief in exercising his franchise. The 2-term passe top minister greeted these present with folded fingers.

Dwelling Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP president J P Nadda, Training Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, and Commerce Minister and Chief of House in Rajya Sabha Piyush Goyal had been among the many leaders who grew to change into up early at the Parliament House.

Congress president Sonia Gandhi and passe celebration chief Rahul Gandhi also solid their pollpost midday.

The polling will continue till 5 pm, following which the counting of ballots will seize topic.

With the ruling BJP having an absolute majority within the Lok Sabha and 91 contributors within the Rajya Sabha, Dhankhar has a definite edge over his rival. He’s more seemingly to prevail incumbent M Venkaiah Naidu, whose tenure ends on August 10.

All MPs of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, along side nominated contributors, are entitled to vote within the vice presidential election.

The 2 Properties of Parliament together bear a sanctioned energy of 788 MPs, of which there are eight vacancies within the Upper House.

Related Articles

Back to top button