Meghalaya polls: TMC proclaims first checklist of candidates, Mukul Sangma to contest from Songsak and Tikrikilla seats

TMC announced first checklist of candidates for Meghalaya polls, Gentle Chief Minister, Mukul Sangma will contest the next Assembly election in Meghalaya from Songsak and Tikrikilla seats.

Mukul’s Sangma wife Dikkanchi D. Shira will seemingly be contesting from Mahendraganj, his daughter Miani D. Shira from Ampati and his youthful brother, Zenith M. Sangma from Rangsakona.

TMC Meghalaya president Charles Pyngrope on Friday announced the names of the occasion candidates in the 52 seats in the first checklist.

Pyngrope will seemingly be contesting from Nongthymmai constituency whereas occasion vice-president and sitting MLA, George B. Lyngdoh will contest from Umroi.Gentle MLA, SG Eastamur Mominin will seemingly be contesting from Phulbari.

“We’re going to present you with the option to be releasing the names of the candidates of the closing eight seats almost at the moment,” Pyngrope added.

Meghalaya has a 60-member assembly. In November 2021 led by outdated chief minister Mukul Sangma, 12 out of the 17 Congress MLAs had submitted a letter to the speaker, asserting their merger with West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress.

Now now not too long ago four MLAs in Meghalaya joined the BJP. Two MLAs belonged to BJP’s ally National Of us’s Get together, one self reliant and one from Trinamool Congress. Benedik Marak, Ferlin Sangma, Himalaya Shangpliang and Samuel Sangma joined BJP.

(Take the total Industry Data, Breaking Data Events and Most up-to-date Data Updates on The Economic Times.)

Fetch The Economic Times Data App to fetch Each day Market Updates & Are living Industry Data.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button