Meghalaya Assembly polls: Voting for elections in Meghalaya begins amid tight security

The voting for the Meghalaya Assembly elections began amid tight security on Monday.

Earlier than voting, mock polls were conducted within the constituencies.

Polling is being held at 3,419 polling stations all over 59 Assembly constituencies within the voice. The voting will continue unless 4 pm on Monday.

Of the 60 Assembly constituencies in Meghalaya, 36 constituencies tumble in Khasi, Jaintia Hills keep while 24 are in Garo Hills keep.

A great deal, on the opposite hand, polling for the Sohiong Assembly constituency used to be postponed following the loss of life of the voice’s broken-down Dwelling Minister and United Democratic Social gathering (UDP) candidate from the seat HDR Lyngdoh.

There are over 21 lakh electorates (21,75,236) of which 10.99 lakh are girls and 10.68 lakh are male voters.

In Meghalaya, the girl voters are in increased numbers than their male counterparts. There are about 81,000 first-time voters within the voice.

As many as 369 candidates are within the fray of which 36 are girls.

Of the general 3,419 polling stations, 120 are all girls-managed polling stations, 60 are model polling stations and one other 60 are PWD polling stations.

The Election Price has deployed 119 firms of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) in Meghalaya.

Chief Electoral Officer, Meghalaya FR Kharkongor said 640 polling stations are is named ‘inclined’, 323 are ‘crucial’ and 84 are is named each and every.

The ballotpanel on Saturday ordered the sealing of Meghalaya’s Worldwide border with Bangladesh unless March 2.

Meghalaya shares a 443 km border with Bangladesh and 885 km with Assam.

Chief Electoral Officer, Meghalaya FR Kharkongor, told that, Meghalaya’s Worldwide border with Bangladesh and the voice border with Assam were sealed.

“We’ve taken preventive measures to guarantee a free and graceful election within the Remark. Part 144 of CrPC has been imposed alongside the arena bordering areas within the voice,” Kharkongor said.

Meanwhile, the district magistrate of East Khasi Hills district on Friday issued an listing that motion of folks will remain strictly prohibited within a one km radius of the India-Bangladesh border of East Khasi Hills district between February 24 and March 2.

The district administration of East Khasi Hills district has also imposed Part 144 of CrPC alongside the bordering areas.

To guarantee a free and graceful election, Election Price has banned newsletter of exit ballotprojections in Meghalaya from 7 am on Friday to 7 pm on the polling day — February 27.

The most up-to-date time-frame of the 60-seat Meghalaya Legislative Assembly will dwell on March 15.

The majority stamp to accumulate authorities within the voice is 31.

In the 2018 Assembly polls, the ruling National Of us’s Social gathering (NPP) bought 19 seats, Congress bagged 21 seats and the Bharatiya Janata Social gathering (BJP) managed to make a selection out two seats. The United Democratic Social gathering (UDP) grabbed six seats.

Though Congress emerged as the easiest largest social gathering, the authorities used to be formed by the NPP-led Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) with make stronger from UDP, BJP and other regional events.

This time, the BJP and NPP haven’t stitched any prepoll alliance and are going solo. BJP and Congress enjoy fielded candidates within the general seats. The Trinamool Congress (TMC), which grew to alter into the predominant opposition social gathering in Meghalaya in 2021 following the defection of 12 Congress MLAs, grew to turn staunch into a fearless power, in particular after broken-down chief minister Mukul Sangma joined its ranks. The TMC has fielded candidates in 58 seats.

Chief Minister Conrad Sangma is contesting from South Tura constituency. BJP fielded Bernard N Marak in opposition to the NPP chief. In Dadenggre, Congress candidate Chesterfield Sangma is contesting in opposition to NPP’s James Sangma.

Historical CM Mukul Sangma is contesting from two seats — Tikrikilla and Songsak on Trinamool’s stamp. UDP leader Metbah Lyngdoh is contesting from Mairang. Additional, NPP pitted Prestone Tynsong from Pynursla. UDP candidate Titosstar Smartly Chyne is contesting from Sohra.

TMC fielded Charles Pyngrope from Nongthymmai. BJP fielded Sanbor Shullai in South Shillong and Ernest Mawrie in West Shillong. Mazel Ampareen Lyngdoh is NPP’s candidate from East Shillong.

In Pynthorumkhrah, BJP fielded Alexander Laloo Hek. UDP leader Lahkmen Rymbui is contesting from Amlarem. In Sutnga Saipung, Congress fielded Vincent H Pala. UDP candidate Kyrmen Shylla is contesting from Khliehriat.

The campaigning for Meghalaya polls ended on Saturday.

From NPP to BJP and Congress to Trinamool, events showcased all may when it comes to campaigning. Be it ballotguarantees or attacking contending forces with slogans, the contesting events lost no probability to enjoy a chase at one any other all around the selling campaign segment.

The BJP confirmed its strength, with High Minister Narendra Modi, Union Dwelling Minister Amit Shah, social gathering president JP Nadda and Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma holding rallies. PM Modi also held a roadshow in Shillong on Friday.

Rahul Gandhi, who used to be lacking from the selling campaign scene in Tripura, held a rally in Shillong. Trinamool supremo Mamata Banerjee held public meetings in Meghalaya. TMC MP Mahua Moitra also canvassed for social gathering candidates within the voice.

The counting of votes will be accomplished on March 2.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button