Gujarat Assembly polls: Vote casting begins for 1st phase; 89 seats up for grabs, 788 candidates in fray

Vote casting for the predominant phase of the Gujarat Assembly election started at 8 am on Thursday in 89 out of the total 182 seats across 19 districts of the Saurashtra-Kutch pickle and southern parts of the deliver.

A total of 2,39,76,670 voters who will solid their votes by 5 pm these days will procedure to a decision the fate of 788 candidates who’re in the fray for the predominant phase.

Constant with office of the deliver Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) said, the balloting is being held across 14,382 polling stations, of which 3,311 are in the metropolis and 11,071 in rural areas.

Are dwelling webcasting is being performed from 13,065 polling stations to retain a shut see on the components, it said.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Celebration (BJP), which headed Gujarat for 27 years, is attempting to retain energy in the deliver for the seventh timeframe in a row.

If it succeeds, this can equal the record of the Left Front authorities which won the West Bengal elections for seven consecutive terms except 2011.

This time, the BJP faces rivals no longer only from its primitive rival Congress but furthermore the recent poll entrant Aam Aadmi Celebration (AAP), which has tried to deliver itself because the main challenger of the ruling event.

The BJP and the Congress are contesting in all 89 seats.

The Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP is contesting in 88 seats. Its candidate from Surat East constituency had withdrawn his candidature, leaving the event with one less seat to contest in the predominant phase.

Besides the BJP, Congress and AAP, 36 other political outfits including the Bahujan Samaj Celebration (BSP), Samajwadi Celebration (SP), Communist Celebration of India-Marxist (CPI-M) and Bharatiya Tribal Celebration (BTP) possess furthermore fielded candidates in varied seats up for grabs the predominant phase.

The BSP has fielded 57 candidates, BTP 14 and CPI-M four candidates.

As many as 339 independents are furthermore in the fray in the predominant phase.

Within the 2017 elections, the BJP won 48 out of those 89 seats, the Congress won 40, whereas one seat used to be bagged by an goal candidate.

Of the total 788 candidates in fray, 70 are females including nine fielded by the BJP, six by the Congress and five by the AAP.

A possess a examine key players, constituencies

Jamnagar North (Jamnagar)

In Jamnagar North the fight is between BJP’s Rivaba Jadeja, cricketer Ravindra Jadeja’s accomplice, Congress’ Bipendrasinh Jadeja and AAP’s Karsan Karmur.


BJP has fielded Kantilal Amrutiya changing changed sitting MLA and Cabinet Minister Brijesh Merja and he’s up against Congress’ Jayantilal Jerajbhai Patel and AAP’s Pankaj Ransariya.

Khambalia (Devbhoomi Dwarka)

This seat is vital because the AAP’s chief ministerial candidate Isudan Gadhvi is contesting from here. He’s confronted by BJP’s Mulu Ayar Bera and Congress’ Vikram Madam.

Rajkot West (Rajkot)

The BJP has given a ticket to 2-time Deputy Mayor Darshita Shah who’s up against AAP’s Dinesh Joshi and Congress’s Mansukhbhai. This seat is believed a pair of bastion of the BJP which the event has no longer misplaced since 1985.

Talala (Gir Somnath)

The BJP has fielded Bhagwan Barad from the seat who’s contesting against AAP’s Devendra Solanki and Congress’ Mansinh Dodiya. Barad had won the seat in the 2017 Assembly polls.


BJP has fielded its sitting MLA and 4-time winner Babu Bokhiria as soon as more. He’s pitted against Congress candidate Arjun Modhwadia and AAP’s Jeevan Jungi.


Kandhalbhai Jadeja, son of unhurried don Santokben Sarmanbhai Jadeja, is contesting on the Samajwadi Celebration ticket. He had won the 2017 Assembly elections on the NCP ticket, nevertheless, quit the event fair fair these days after he used to be denied a ticket.

With inputs from agencies

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button